Meet Karl, and his amazing Banana Bread

Karl is my green Kitchen Aid Mixer. Karl has all of the attachments except the pasta maker and the new ice cream freezy bowl.  And Karl, is my joy.

 

Meet Karl the Green Kitchen Aid

Strangely, I do name several of the inanimate objects in my house.  I think that there is some sort of dollars spent paradigm that I use to determine an objects ‘name worthiness’, and Karl passed that threshold on purchase.  And, despite the fact that I haven’t any space to keep Karl on display, he never fails to make my life easier.

The basic Kitchen Aid comes with two beaters, the silver one is a whipping/whisk beater, the white is more of a mixer.

Whip at front, mixer at back

 

Tip #1:  If you don’t have a flour sifter ( I don’t) you can measure the unsifted flour into the bowl, use the whip/whisk attachment at setting 4 to work the lumps out and the air in. Just use a tea towel or an optional spatter cover to stop the flour from covering your kitchen in a nice powdery surface.

Today, I had 3 bananas that were getting ready to revolt, and needed to be dealt with immediately. As I was gathering the items to make a Banana Bread (Grandmother’s recipe the best I have ever had) I realized that my butter was frozen.

Tip # 2: You can put frozen butter chunks ( after they have been microwaved for about 20 seconds ) into the bowl, when you add sugar or eggs and set the mix speed to 5 using the white beater – the butter will cream nicely and you don’t have to wait for it to come to mixable temperature.

All of the tips – I used today.  And with 10 minutes of mixing and preheating and pouring, I had a loaf of banana bread heading to the oven.  An hour later, and it was cooling on the rack

Cooling for 40 minutes

The Recipe:

Banana Bread

½ cup (1 stick) butter – I use unsalted

1 cup of white sugar

2 Eggs

½ tsp. salt

3 bananas mashed or overripe

2 cups of white flour, sifted

1 tsp. baking soda

½ cup chopped nuts – optional. Chopped walnuts or pecans work best.

Mix all ingredients in to creamed butter and sugar in order provided.

Bake for 1 hour in a 350 oven, or until a straw inserted in center of loaf comes out clean.

Remove from baking pan as soon as possible (within 5 minutes) and let cool an additional 40 minutes before attempting to slice.

 

When you are done – you get this.

Sliced, warm and ready to eat

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes

4 responses to “Meet Karl, and his amazing Banana Bread

  1. missgrill

    say the word walnut and you can deliver me some too! looks great.

    • Funny! I don’t particularly like nuts in breads.. and so many recipes are nut heavy, or lose something not having them. That’s why I adore this bread so. You don’t have to add the nuts, and people don’t necessarily look for them.

      Thanks for popping in and following….

What do you have to add?

