Sweet Potato Scones

 

Been having some rather ridiculous issues with computers the past few days: I’m sorting them out.

But, in the meantime I thought I would share my recipe for Sweet Potato Scones with a cinnamon/honey whipped butter.

Sweet Potato Scone with honey butter

Sweet Potato scones
1c flour + some set aside
½ tsp. salt
2 tbsp. baking powder
1 tsp. sugar (I prefer brown, but white will do)
1cup mashed cooked sweet potato *two med sized baked sweet potatoes will work
3 tbsp. melted butter – separated
1 – 2 tbsp. milk (will vary when mixing)

 

First the potato:  Take 2 or 3 medium sweet potatoes. Wash the skin, take off any stray ‘hairs’, cut a small slice that will vent the steam, and pop into a 350° oven for 60 – 90 minutes or until you see the caramel brown ooze of sugars escape from the vent slice.

Taking care not to burn yourself, scoop out the inside of the potato, mash with a fork to remove the big lumps, and set aside to cool.

My potatoes are baked and mashed, and cool enough to be handled.  To my mixer, I add flour, salt and baking powder and stir in sugar, setting the beater to low being sure to mix all ingredients.   To the potatoes, I add 2 tbsp. of melted butter, and stir well. Then I add the wet into my dry ingredients in the mixer and mix well.  I use the milk, adding a little at a time, to get a finished batter that is biscuit-like in consistency. Well mixed, not dry, not too sticky.

With floured hands, I then work the dough into a circle. It should fit into a greased  9” round tin or pie pan.  Then using a clean knife, I cut the dough into 8 triangular pieces. Brush the remaining melted butter over the top and then dust the top with a sprinkle of sugar, (brown or white) and bake at 375° for 20 – 25 minutes.

I always serve them with honey butter, or slice in half, reheated, buttered and served with a touch of cinnamon sugar.

Honey butter:
1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter – softened
1 tablespoon honey
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
Pinch of nutmeg

Put butter into mixer – whip and cream at high speed. When butter is whipped, add in the honey, mix to incorporate.  When that is incorporated, add in the cinnamon and the nutmeg and keep whipping for an additional 90 seconds to mix completely.  From there, I use a spatula to put the butter into a small lidded container. Seal it, and refrigerate so the butter will set up.  Want to get fancy? You could use a silicon candy mold in pretty shapes, or spoon out onto cling film and form a log roll – when chilled you just slice off pats to serve.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

What do you have to add?

